Now Reading
Motorhead To Unleash Some “Bad Magic” in August

Motorhead To Unleash Some “Bad Magic” in August

by KeithJune 6, 2015

In what is their 40th Year Anniversary Motorhead are to release their 22nd studio album by the title “Bad Magic“. The album will be released on 28th of August by UDR Music/Motorhead Music.

Written and recorded in the studio together, for the first time in the Kilmister/Campbell/Dee era, the more ‘live’ approach to creating Bad Magic has obviously paid dividends in this regard. There is the driving malevolence of ‘Choking On Your Screams‘,  with Lemmy in magnificently omnipotent vocal mood, ‘Electricity‘ carries a hefty chunk of punk attitude married with some of Phil Campbell‘s best lead work in years, while ‘Shoot Out All of Your Lights‘ is all devilish, greasy biker-borne-screw-you-and yours, Mikkey Dee‘s tribal drums pounding out a great path for more Kilmister proclamations. The boys even enjoyed a guest appearance from Queen‘s Brian May on ‘The Devil‘, adding a scintillating solo on this thunderous Mot’rstomper.

Produced at NRG Studios with long-time producer Cameron Webb, Bad Magic came together after a couple of years which saw Motorhead enjoy their most successful international era in over two decades off the back of their last release “Aftershock“. Lemmy also finally decided to face the fact he is flesh, blood and mortal like all of us, adjusting his lifestyle to kick the ass of health-issues and re-emerging stronger, leaner and meaner than ever. His own personal performances on Bad Magic rank as some of the most wide-ranging and unique he has delivered in years, and on the ballad ‘Until The End‘, Lemmy opens up with equal levels explanation and intent on the simple but important matters which life conjures for us all. Add to all of this a wonderfully executed, gritty delivery of The Rolling Stones classic ‘Sympathy For The Devil‘, and it will be clear to anyone with a pair of ears that Bad Magic is Motorhead’s finest work in over two decades.


1.     Victory Or Die  3.09
2.     Thunder & Lightning  3.06
3.     Fire Storm Hotel 3.35
4.     Shoot Out all of Your Lights  3.15
5.     The Devil  2.54
6.     Electricity 2.17
7.     Evil Eye 2.20
8.     Teach Them How To Bleed 3.13
9.     Till The End 4.05
10.  Tell Me Who To Kill  2.57
11.   Choking On Your Screams  3.33
12.  When The Sky Comes Looking For You 2.58
13.   Sympathy For The Devil*  5.35

*Originally by The Rolling Stones


Motorhead have also issued details of tour dates in support of the album with more dates still to come.

Starting in mid-August, there will be a North American tour with Anthrax which ends with the now-legendary Mot’rboat cruise between Sept 28th ‘ Oct 2nd from Miami, Florida to Nassau in the Bahamas, also featuring Slayer and Anthrax among a bumper line-up of bands. And Motorhead’s 40th Anniversary European Winter tour will start on November 15th 2015 at Le Zenith in Paris, ending on December 6th at the Hartwell Arena in Helsinki, Finland. More dates will be announced soon, so keep checking the band’s official website as well as the following social media platforms for details.


Pre-Order Bad Magic on Amazon


What's your reaction?
Love It
Hate It

Leave a Response